Skip to content
Enfield Counts — Enfield, in numbers.Local help →

Enfield, in numbers

People and living standards

Enfield council area. Every figure carries its own date.

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Enfield council area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 260,133 in 1991 to 329,400 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Enfield council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 265,033 people in 1996; 329,400 people in 2025. 24.3% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Enfield council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991260,133
1992260,632
1993260,769
1994260,027
1995262,787
1996265,033
1997268,379
1998268,886
1999272,731
2000275,068
2001277,266
2002280,745
2003281,835
2004282,217
2005284,779
2006287,429
2007291,534
2008297,443
2009301,971
2010307,648
2011313,935
2012317,780
2013321,754
2014326,340
2015330,868
2016333,295
2017333,077
2018334,000
2019335,151
2020333,149
2021329,876
2022328,898
2023330,673
2024331,421
2025329,400
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Enfield council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 56,462 people in 1996; 67,653 people in 2025. 19.8% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Enfield council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199152,587
199253,504
199354,352
199454,867
199555,689
199656,462
199757,371
199857,890
199958,315
200058,387
200157,842
200258,712
200359,592
200460,210
200561,296
200662,538
200763,886
200865,586
200967,198
201068,856
201170,364
201271,784
201372,789
201473,993
201575,433
201675,754
201775,785
201875,987
201975,584
202074,587
202172,381
202271,279
202370,570
202469,532
202567,653
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Enfield council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 170,650 people in 1996; 212,013 people in 2025. 24.2% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Enfield council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991168,474
1992168,293
1993167,884
1994166,993
1995169,022
1996170,650
1997173,192
1998173,397
1999176,725
2000179,078
2001181,641
2002184,354
2003184,694
2004184,609
2005186,110
2006187,782
2007190,538
2008194,421
2009196,899
2010200,500
2011204,508
2012205,915
2013208,151
2014210,898
2015213,522
2016215,148
2017214,292
2018214,377
2019215,237
2020213,890
2021212,177
2022211,525
2023212,920
2024213,516
2025212,013
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Enfield council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 37,921 people in 1996; 49,734 people in 2025. 31.2% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Enfield council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199139,072
199238,835
199338,533
199438,167
199538,076
199637,921
199737,816
199837,599
199937,691
200037,603
200137,783
200237,679
200337,549
200437,398
200537,373
200637,109
200737,110
200837,436
200937,874
201038,292
201139,063
201240,081
201340,814
201441,449
201541,913
201642,393
201743,000
201843,636
201944,330
202044,672
202145,318
202246,094
202347,183
202448,373
202549,734
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 329,985 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Enfield · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh37,97311.5%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African60,51218.3%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups19,5585.9%
White171,88452.1%
Other ethnic group40,05812.1%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 312,466 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Enfield · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White190,64061%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups17,1835.5%
Asian/Asian British34,89311.2%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British53,68717.2%
Other ethnic group16,0635.1%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 273,559 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Enfield · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White210,94977.1%
Mixed8,0943%
Asian/Asian British21,2497.8%
Black/Black British28,59110.5%
Chinese/Other4,6761.7%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 10.8% above the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Enfield council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £10,599 per person in 1997; £28,764 per person in 2024. 171.4% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Enfield council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
199710,599
199810,974
199911,353
200012,199
200112,970
200213,058
200313,655
200414,292
200514,785
200615,274
200716,384
200816,892
200916,768
201016,975
201116,930
201218,031
201318,530
201419,199
201520,619
201621,172
201721,623
201822,636
201923,044
202022,989
202124,043
202225,469
202326,914
202428,764
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Enfield council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: -0.1% in 1997; 10.8% in 2024. 10.9 percentage points higher.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Enfield council area: full reviewed history
Period%
1997-0.1
19981.4
19990.4
20002.5
20014.8
20023.2
20034.8
20045.3
20055.2
20064.3
20076.8
20087.3
20094.7
20105.1
20113.9
20126.8
20135.8
20146.2
20158.4
20169.9
20179.8
201810.9
20199.4
20209.5
202110.1
202210.9
202310.1
202410.8
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults in work

55.9%

21 March 2021 · Enfield council area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

21 March 2021, residents aged 16 and over. Includes full-time students in the corresponding work/unemployment categories. Not a current labour-market estimate or the usual 16–64 employment rate. Census took place during the coronavirus pandemic; furlough and lockdown affected answers. Ward counts sum complete official output-area best-fit membership; privacy adjustment can make totals differ slightly.

Source →

Households facing several disadvantages

22.2%

21 March 2021 · Enfield council area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

22.5%

21 March 2021 · Enfield council area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

4.9%

21 March 2021 · Enfield council area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£471,000

July 2026 · Enfield council area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Average monthly private rent

£1,827

August 2026 · Enfield council area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Official local housing data feed. House prices are provisional, not seasonally adjusted; rents use the Price Index of Private Rents. Local short-term estimates are variable. Country references use only the explicitly country-coded ctry object, never the local place object.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.